Plants for Winter Blooms

The evergreen shrub above  should be a must-have for gardeners suffering from winter blues. Daphne (D. odora aureomarginata) is full of buds right now. It will start blooming the last of January and continue right through February. The best thing about the flowers, since they are small, is that they smell wonderful, a lemony sweet fragrance. Float a few of the flower clusters in a small bowl to bring the rich scent into the home.

The flowers below belong to my Japanese Flowering Apricot tree, Prunus mume. It is a lovely small tree, not grown for its fruit, but for the early flowers. It is completely budded now. The buds are still tight, but they will open around the first part of February. Branches may forced in the house for even earlier blooms.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hellebores, in the third photo, are sometimes called Lenten Roses. They begin to bloom in February also, and come in several colors:  white, white with speckles, pink, dark rose and a deep maroon that is almost black. Their evergreen leaves are palmate and the nodding flowers show up well in the foliage.

These plants keep winter from being too dreary. Include some in your garden for year-round flowers.


15 thoughts on “Plants for Winter Blooms

    • I checked yesterday and the deciduous hellebore is covered in fat, purple buds just starting to open. It is always the 1st one, H. purpurascens. I covered it w/ leaves in anticipation of the snow. We have about 4 inches and it is still snowing. Wet snow, so we have to go out and knock it off of the evergreens.

  1. Lynn,

    I love winter blooming plants. Some of my hellebores have been blooming for a month… right through two terribly cold spells. Also, I have picked two blooms from my winter blooming iris (also known as the Algerian iris, I. unguicularis)… though it is a bit colder than it likes.

    I enjoy your postings–especially when the weather is miserable.

    Tom

    • Yes, Tom. It is so rewarding to have winter blooming plants. Sounds like I might need a piece of your I. unguicularis, if you don’t mind sharing. One of my camellias just finished blooming and my other one is budded, if I can keep the buds from freezing.

  2. Hi and welcome to Blotanical. I am Donna of Garden Walk Garden Talk and I have ‘accepted’ your blog for processing as I am one of the gurus and mentors. This is new in Blotaical, but I hope my vote gets you part of this wonderful blogging family. You have a lovely blog, hope I can help you get approval.

  3. Hi… got here from Autumn Belle… the Japanese apricot has no fruits? The one we have have beautiful flowers and fruits of a good size…

    Now I know the name of that plant we have… the Daphne… our has yet to bloom at the moment…

    • Hi Lrong,
      The Flowering Japanese Apricot, Prunus mume, is only grown for its flowers, but there are other Japanese apricots that are grown for both fruit and flower. You are fortunate to have both the apricot and the Daphne for winter blooms.

Leave a Reply

